

## भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान (भारतीय खनि विद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad

For Immediate Release: May 15, 2024

## PRESS-RELEASE

## Prof Sukumar Mishra, assumes charge as the new Director of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad

Prof Sukumar Mishra has assumed charge as new Director of Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad with effect from 15<sup>th</sup> May 2024. He took over charge from Prof J.K Pattanayak of Department of Management Studies and Industrial Engineering, who has been serving as the Officiating Director of the Institute from July 1, 2023.

Later, he attended a meeting with all the Deans at the conference hall of administrative building of the Institute and took details of ongoing activities and future plans during the presentations made by the respective Deans.

A meeting of the new director with all the Officers of the Institute led by Shri Prabodh Pandey, Registrar is also scheduled during the evening.

An acclaimed researcher and an effective administrator, Prof Mishra has carved a niche for himself in the field of Electrical Engineering. As part of his administrative role he has served as Dean, Research and External Engagement, IIT Delhi-Abu Dhabi Campus and also as Associate Dean (R &D). He has also been working closely with Delhi section of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as Executive Committee member. His research expertise lies in fields of Power System, Power Quality Studies, Renewable Energy and Smart Grid.

Prof. Mishra has also carried out many important industrial consultations with Tata Power, Microtek and others. He is the founder of Silov Solutions Private Limited under the Companies Act, 2013. The company specifically deals in products related to renewable energy sources utilizable at household scale as well as at commercial setups for example bidirectional electric vehicle supply equipment, AC based EV charger, DC based EV charger, grid connected solar inverters, smart DC home management systems, online UPS etc.

He has also won many accolades such as Young Scientist Award (1999) by Orissa Bigyan Academy, INSA Medal for Young Scientist (2002), INAE Young Engineer Award (2002), INAE Silver Jubilee Young Engineer Award (2012), The Samanta Chandra Shekhar Award (2016), Bimal Bose Award (2019) and NASI-Reliance Platinum Jubilee Award (2019), National Mission Innovation Championship Award (2019), INAE Outstanding Teachers Award (2021), Innovation Leadership Award (2023), Prof. K.L. Chopra Applied Research Award (2023) among others.

He has been granted fellowships such as INAE-SERB DST Abdul Kalam Technology Innovation National Fellowship NASI (India), INAE (India) and professional societies like IET (U.K.), IETE (India), IE (India).

Rajni Singh

Dean (Corporate Communications)

Phone: (0326) 2235303, Email: dcc@iitism.ac.in